Damon Runyon News

November 22, 2021

The National Academy of Medicine provides independent, evidence-based scientific advice to address national and global health challenges. Membership is considered to be one of the highest honors in the medical field and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. This year, four Damon Runyon alumni were nominated for membership, bringing the total number of Damon Runyon scientists in the organization to 41.

William C. Hahn, MD, PhDWilliam C. Hahn, MD, PhD (Fellow ’98-’99), of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, is recognized “for fundamental contributions in the understanding of cancer initiation, maintenance, and progression.”


Peter Tontonoz, MD, PhDPeter Tontonoz, MD, PhD (Scholar ’99-00 and current Mentor), of University of California, Los Angeles, is recognized “for being a pioneer in molecular lipid metabolism, defining basic physiology and revealing connections to human disease.”



Cynthia Wolberger, PhDCynthia Wolberger, PhD (Fellow ’87-’90 and former Mentor), of Johns Hopkins University, is recognized “for pioneering structural studies elucidating molecular mechanisms underlying combinatorial regulation of transcription, ubiquitin signaling, and epigenetic histone modifications, which have provided a foundation for drug discovery.”



Feng Zhang, PhDFeng Zhang, PhD (Innovator ’12-’14), of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, “for revolutionizing molecular biology and powering transformative leaps forward in our ability to study and treat human diseases through the discovery of novel microbial enzymes and systems and their development as molecular technologies, such as optogenetics and CRISPR-mediated genome editing, and for outstanding mentoring and professional services.”