Damon Runyon News

May 23, 2024

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS), established in 1863, is the body of distinguished researchers “charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology.” Election to membership is among the highest honors a scientist can receive. This year, four former Damon Runyon Fellows and one current Board Member join the NAS ranks, bringing the total number of Damon Runyon alumni in NAS to 104.

Abby F. Dernburg, PhD (Fellow ‘96-’99), professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of California, Berkeley



Todd R. Golub, MD (Board Member), director and Founding Core Institute Member, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard; Charles A. Dana Investigator, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; and professor of pediatrics, Harvard Medical School, Cambridge



Susan M. Kaech, PhD (Fellow ‘99-’02), professor and director, NOMIS Center for Immunobiology and Microbial Pathogenesis, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla



Nipam H. Patel, PhD (Fellow ‘91-’92), professor of organismal biology and anatomy, University of Chicago; and director, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA



Joanna Wysocka, PhD (Fellow ‘04-’06), investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and full professor of chemical and systems biology, Department of Chemical and Systems Biology, Stanford University, Stanford