New Discoveries and Honors in Cancer Research

Read the latest cancer research and recognition from the members of the Damon Runyon scientific circle.
October 4, 2016
2016 High-Risk, High-Reward Research Awards granted

The NIH announced the 2016 recipients of awards within its High-Risk, High-Reward Research program. These awards are designed to support scientists proposing highly innovative approaches to major contemporary challenges in biomedical research. Of 88 total awards this year, six were granted to Damon Runyon Scientists. 

2016 Pioneer Award

Christine Mayr, MD, PhD (Damon Runyon Innovator '13-'15), Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York

2016 NIH New Innovator Award

Sean C. Bendall, PhD (Damon Runyon Dale F. Frey Breakthrough Scientist ’14-’16, Fellow ’09-’12), Stanford University, Stanford

Melanie A. Samuel, PhD (Damon Runyon Fellow ’08-’11), Baylor College of Medicine, Houston

Elçin Ünal, PhD (Damon Runyon Rachleff Innovator ’15-’16), University of California, Berkeley

Arun P. Wiita, PhD (Damon Runyon Dale F. Frey Breakthrough Scientist ’15-’16, Fellow ’12-’14), University of California, San Francisco

2016 NIH Transformative Research Award

Wendy Garrett, MD, PhD (Damon Runyon Fellow '06-'09), Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health, Boston